My prayers for you

As I phased out of icallyouluv I started to send you my prayers for you.

What we have is so complex.  There is unrestrained passion, sexual deviance, mindless desire, and supernatural tenderness.

What we have is so special and our story would be incomplete without the spiritual side that we have.  You know that I have wrestled with this side of us and I have even drawn back from God.  How can what we have be blessed but how can something so special not be part of His plan.

I think that this post is one of the three most important messages in icallyouluv.

Here are some of the prayers.  I think you will be able to remember my heart based on these, but some of them were too intimate and special to include here.

It’s his kindness that brings us to redemption.  What does that mean?  We don’t choose to embrace God and love Him because we fear punishment or going to Hell.  We choose Him because he is like a daddy with his arms outstretched saying, “Come to me my child. I love you now and I always loved you.  When you were in despair I loved you.  When you were in sin I loved you. When you were opposed to me and ran and hid from me I loved you.  You are wonderfully made and you are my little girl.”

We sing the song about Amazing Grace where God saved a wretch like me.  That is what grace is, when we don’t get what we deserve.  We are weak and failed creatures, fragile as jars of clay.  He looks on us with love and says, “Come to me child.”  His heart is for us to walk with Him and be with Him.  His love is more than we can comprehend or understand.

Today is a gift that not everyone has.  We can treat it like a blessing or like a curse.  God has a plan for you and today is part of it.  “In everything give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”

I struggle with this, “You do not have because you do not ask.  You ask and do not receive because you ask with wrong motives so that you may spend it on your pleasures.”  I can only imagine what there could be for you.  What treasures does God have that he wants to give to you, his beautiful and tender daughter?  I know from experience that it really is the simple things in life that bring us the most joy, not mountains of stuff.  What joy is waiting if we only asked God and followed him?

The Jews spent years in the desert and received manna and quail for God but were never satisfied.  That is because things never satisfy us.  We become familiar with them, they lose their novelty and we want a different experience.  What is it that will satisfy us?  What is it that fills the hole in us and satiates the cravings?

Jeremiah 29:11

“For I know the plans I have for you,” says the Lord.  “They are plans for good and not for disaster, to give you a future and a hope.”  God is loving toward us and has wonderful plans.  It does not mean that His plan will be easy and it does not mean that His plan will even make sense.  What we must ask ourselves is if we believe we have a loving God.  If we believe that, what else could you believe but that the plan for you is the best.  There may be trials and confusion and tears and suffering along the way.

Sometimes we make our plans for life but we get divine interruptions.  We think that we know where we are going but God has other plans.  These interruptions can be confusing and frustrating, but sometimes they are splendid and wonderful.  Is it faith that allows us to accept the interruptions? Is anything that happens not part of His plan?

My natural mind wants to end the suffering.  It sees it as an awful thing, interrupting and distracting.  I am childish and I stomp my feet and whine and cry about things that are not the way that I want them.  The ways of God are not the ways of man.  What if I never understood the reason for allowing the pain?  Does that mean that it was never part of God’s plan?  If I could pray for something it would be to see through His eyes.  Would understanding and seeing the purpose make it hurt less?

Talking to you is like a cool wind blowing over the desert.  You are like the calm spot in a storm that is beating me down.  You are like a long, cool drink of water on a parched day.  You are joy!  I think that God gives these things as an example of what He can be for us.

Leave a Reply

